We Are Here to Listen

Fill out the form below to get in touch with our team.

  • Please enter your name.
  • This isn't a valid email address.
    Please enter your email address.
  • This isn't a valid phone number.
    Please enter your phone number.
    You entered an invalid number.
  • Please enter a message.
    Please select an option.
Place Your Trust in Our Firm
Protecting & Defending the Criminally-Accused

DUI Defense Lawyers in Columbia

We Fight to Protect Your Rights and Reputation

Being charged with driving under the influence, more commonly referred to as a DUI or DWI, is a frightening experience that carries serious penalties if convicted. Your driver’s license, job, finances, and your future are all jeopardized upon conviction of a DUI – you could even end up with an extended jail sentence. To have the best possible chances of beating a DUI charge, you must have skillful representation from a skilled Columbia DUI defense lawyer. Our attorneys at Moore Taylor Law Firm have decades of experience in criminal defense and will aggressively represent you when facing a DUI charge.

What Are the Penalties for DUI Convictions in South Carolina?

DUI penalties vary in South Carolina depending on the nature of the offense. First-time DUI offenses, where the driver’s blood alcohol content level (BAC) on arrest was between 0.08 and 0.16 percent, where no property or person(s) are harmed, usually face these penalties:

  • Jail time: DUI arrests will land you in jail, where you will be booked until you post your designated bail amount, if you can. Usually, jail sentences last between 2 to 30 days. Jail times are increased for drivers whose BAC was between 0.10 but less than 0.16 percent, where the minimum penalty is 7 days in jail.
  • Fines: If you are convicted of a DUI in South Carolina, you will be fined a minimum of $400.
  • Education: You must complete an Alcohol and Drug Safety Action Program (ADSAP) course.
  • Suspension of driving privileges: Your driver’s license will be suspended for a minimum of 6 months. Those enrolled in the ADSAP program are sometimes eligible to obtain a provisional license to permit driving during the suspension period.

All penalties are increased if the driver had a BAC greater than 0.16 percent at the time of arrest. For example, if the first-time offender’s BAC was greater than 0.16 percent, s/he will have more jail time, up to 90 days in jail. The offender will also be ineligible to apply for a provisional driver’s license. If public property or person(s) are damaged or harmed, penalties are likely to be increased even further. The purpose of these penalties is not only to punish the offender, but to deter future DUI offenses.

Do I Need a DUI Lawyer?

If you’ve been charged with a DUI, you are likely overwhelmed and fearful of the consequences. What’s more, the process of trying to beat a DUI charge can be long, confusing, and frustrating, especially if you elect to not hire an attorney to represent you. If you’ve been charged with a DUI in West Columbia, you’ll need someone to guide you throughout the legal process. Your DUI attorney should be familiar with criminal defense laws in South Carolina, and it helps further to retain a lawyer who has a track record of success, who isn’t afraid to go to trial, if necessary.

Contact Moore Taylor Law Firm for DUI Defense Representation

For a consultation with our DUI attorneys at Moore Taylor Law Firm, contact us to book your appointment online, or call (866) 829-1242. We are here to listen.