We Are Here to Listen

Fill out the form below to get in touch with our team.

  • Please enter your name.
  • This isn't a valid email address.
    Please enter your email address.
  • This isn't a valid phone number.
    Please enter your phone number.
    You entered an invalid number.
  • Please enter a message.
    Please select an option.
Place Your Trust in Our Firm
Protecting & Defending the Criminally-Accused

Domestic Violence Attorneys in Columbia

Protecting and Defending the Criminally Accused Since 1971

When arguments turn physical, the law can intervene to hold the perpetrator accountable. You will be arrested and go to jail if police have reason to believe you committed domestic violence (DV). At Moore Taylor Law Firm, our Columbia domestic violence lawyers firmly believe you are innocent until proven guilty. Don’t leave anything to chance when it comes to protecting your rights and reputation. We are prepared to do all we can to defend your rights and reputation to challenge a DV charge.

What Is Considered Domestic Violence?

Domestic violence often involves two people who share a household, usually spouses or couples who cohabitate. “Household member” also includes those who have a child in common or formerly-cohabitating couples. South Carolina’s domestic violence laws, codified in S.C. Code § 16-25-10, et seq, makes it illegal to cause or make imminent threats to cause physical harm or injury against a household member. The penalties for a DV conviction in South Carolina vary depending on the nature and degree of the offense.

DV convictions in South Carolina result in various penalties, both for misdemeanors and felony offenses. First-time offenders face jail time, fines, mandated counseling, and it puts a stain on your permanent record. As a result of a DV conviction, you could also face difficulty in finding new employment, entering a foreign country, obtaining citizenship if you are not a U.S. citizen, loss of child custody, and loss of second-amendment privileges.

Penalties for a domestic violence conviction include, but are not limited to:

  • Jail Time: You will go to jail for up to 90 days.
  • Fines: Offenders must pay approximately $5,000, not including any bail amount to get out of jail upon arrest.
  • Counseling: DV offenders must take 26 weeks of domestic abuse counseling.

Do I Need a Domestic Violence Attorney?

You are entitled to be represented by a criminal defense attorney if you face DV and/or any other criminal charges. You should exercise this right, because even if the purported DV victim wants to drop charges against you, the prosecutor in the case may still continue to pursue a conviction without the victim’s cooperation. That’s because the evidence may be compelling, or the “he said, she said” nature of the offense leads the prosecutor to think the original DV complaint is credible.

Remember, your reputation and your freedom are on the line when you’re charged with domestic violence. Even if the allegations are baseless, you need representation from a criminal defense lawyer to protect yourself.

Contact an Experienced Domestic Violence Attorney at Moore Taylor Law Firm

Don’t leave your future to chance. Contact Moore Taylor Law Firm to protect yourself, and rest assured that we will provide you with the personalized attention you need as you face DV charges. Call us at (866) 829-1242 today to get started.